Wednesday, March 18, 2009

3 CPM leaders killed in Bengal poll violence

18 Mar 2009, 2200 hrs IST, PTI

MIDNAPORE/BURDWAN: Three CPM leaders died and seven others suffered injury in poll-related violence on Wednesday in West Midnapore and Burdwan
districts of West Bengal.

Suspected armed Maoists shot dead CPM's Banspahari local committee member, Durgapada Deshwali (45) and Santosh Mahto (40) at Bhulabheda market in West Midnapore district on Wednesday evening.

Superintendent of police, West Midnapore, Manoj Verma said, "They died on the spot. Durgapada's brother, Palaram, suffered bullet injuries in his right leg after five Maoists shot them as they got down a bus and entered a tea stall."

They were returning home at Bhulabheda village after attending a CPM leaders' meeting in Silda.

Palaram!limped home with his bleeding leg. A large contingent of police has rushed to the spot, Verma said.

Police said Maoist guerrilas chanted slogans and left Maoist posters at the spot before melting into Ukhuldoba jungle.

According to locals, the market worn a deserted look with all shops downing shutters and panicked people rushing home.

Another CPM leader, Sairob Ali Dewan (40) was killed and 6 others injured in an attack allegeldy by Trinamool Congress at Bontirgram village in Burdwan district.

No comments: