Thursday, April 16, 2009

Naxal strikes kill 18 on Lok Sabha polling day

16 Apr 2009, 1700 hrs IST, PTI

NEW DELHI: Naxalites struck in a big way in Bihar, Jharkhand, Chhattisgarh and Orissa killing 18 people, including five poll officials and ten A BSF jawan is rushed to a hospital after Maoists strike in Ranchi. (PTI Photo)
More Pictures
security personnel, as moderate to brisk voting was reported across 15 states and two union territories on the first day of polling for Lok Sabha elections.

Shortly after voting began this morning, Naxalites detonated a landmine targeting a bus ferrying Border Security Force personnel in Latehar district in Jharkhand in which five personnel and two civilians were killed.

Naxalites blew up a vehicle carrying poll officials in Chhattisgarh's Rajnandgaon district, killing five of them and injuring two others, police said.

Polling booths were set on fire and there was exchange of fire between the Naxals and the security forces in Dandewada and Narainpur areas in the state that left two CRPF jawan dead and five others injured in Maruki in Dandewada, about 350 kms from Raipur.

Voting which began on a sedate note in 124 constituencies this morning picked up during the day. Today's election will decide among others the fate of RJD chief Lalu Prasad, BJP's Murli Manohar Joshi and Yashwant Sinha and TRS president K Chandrasekar Rao. There are 1,715 candidates in the fray.

Maoists also set afire at least three polling booths, electronic voting machines and other materials in Orissa's Malkangiri district today, disrupting voting.

In Bihar, a homeguard and a police official on election duty were shot dead and another injured by Naxals in Singhpur village in Gaya district, police said. Two other police personnel were reported missing.

Deputy Commissioner Sarvendu Tathagat in Latehar, about 125 kms from Ranchi, said the BSF personnel were returning from Ladhup to Arah after having carried of patrolling duty in Naxal strongholds when they were attacked. A helicopter has flown to the spot for rescue operations, he said.

Maoists set afire at least three polling booths, destroying electronic voting machines and other poll material in Orissa's Malkangiri district. Polling was disrupted in the area.

A staggering 1.85 lakh polling stations were set up by the Election Commission to enable about 14.31 crore voters to exercise their franchise.

Elections to 154 Assembly segments in Andhra Pradesh and 70 in Orissa were also held today.

While all 20 seats in Kerala, 11 in Chhattisgarh and two each in Arunachal Pradesh and Meghalaya went to polls in a single phase today, polling was held in 13 out of 40 seats in Bihar, 16 out of 80 in Uttar Pradesh, Maharashtra 13 (48), Andhra Pradesh 22 (42), Jharkhand 6 (14), Orissa 10 (21), Assam 3 (14), Manipur 1 (2) and Jammu and Kashmir 1 (6).

The lone seats in Andaman and Nicobar Islands, Lakshadweep, Mizoram and Nagaland were also covered in the first phase.

Prominent among those who contested today were Union Ministers Praful Patel, Renuka Chowdhury, D Purandeswari, Santosh Mohan Dev, Meira Kumar, Rameshwar Oraon and E Ahamed and BJP leader Rajiv Pratap Rudy, former UN Under-Secretary General Shashi Tharoor and south Indian actress Vijaya Shanti.

The second phase of polling will be held on April 23, and voting in the remaining phases will take place on April 30, May seven and May 13.

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

Priority to best Infrastructure - Dr. Sanjeev Naik

The Rising Summer has not dampened the spirit of the candidates of various parties vying to represent the Navi Mumbai electorate in the next Lok Sabha. The campaigning by the candidates has also heated up with the Thane constituency going to the polls on April 30.
Talking to Media, Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) candidate Sanjeev Naik said, “My aim is to not only provide the basic amenities but also to get the best……………