Tuesday, April 28, 2009

Ten constituencies in Bihar and West Bengal naxal-affected

New Delhi (PTI): A total of 15,193 polling stations spread over ten Parliamentary constituencies in Bihar and West Bengal have been classified as naxal-affected areas in the third phase of Lok Sabha polls on April 30.

Congress President Sonia Gandhi and BJP leader L K Advani are among the 1,567 candidates, including 101 women, in the fray for 107 seats in nine states and two union territories.

Over 14.40 crore voters would be eligible to exercise their franchise in over 1.65 lakh polling stations, Deputy Election Commissioner J P Prakash told reporters here on Tuesday.

He said as many as 19,763 villages have been identified as vulnerable to intimidation of voters and 45,843 persons would be kept under watch in these areas.

Mr. Prakash said that simultaneous polls would be held to the 32 member Sikkim Assembly for which 167 candidates including 15 women are in the fray.

While 31 Assembly constituencies would have geographical boundaries, voting for one seat would be held for the Sangha monks spread over Sikkim, Mr. Prakash said.

The Sangha monks can vote anywhere in their local areas and each polling stations would have two EVMs -- one for the normal votes and another for Sangha monks. There are 3,058 Sangha voters in the State.

No comments: