Saturday, August 15, 2009

22 CISF men who battled Maoists among 223 cops to get gallantry awards

TNN 15 August 2009, 01:15am IST
Print Email Discuss Bookmark/Share Save Comment Text Size: |

NEW DELHI: Twenty-two CISF personnel, who battled more than 200 heavily armed Maoists for 10 hours without any back-up or reinforcements and saved
the lives of 150 Nalco staff at Damanjodi in Orissa in April, are among the 223 cops across the country who will be awarded with gallantry medals on the occasion of Independence Day.

This is for the first time in the history of gallantry medal for police personnel when all the jawans involved in a single operation have been selected for awards. While six of them will get the President's Police Medal for Gallantry (PPMG), the other 16 will be given the Police Medal for Gallantry (PMG).

Those who will get PPMG are: Bhagirath Singh, Amarendra Sarmah, Sarbjeet Singh, Vipin Kumar Singh (all posthumous), Dharam Singh and Salim Khan.

Those who will get PMG posthumously are: Subas Chandra Pradhan, Potupureddi Appanna, Barun Paramanik, Kritan Kumar Solanki, Bidhan Maji and Lalit Kumar.

All of them not only saved the hostages (all Nalco staff) but also kept the Red Ultras away from the stores having a huge quantity of explosives.

Incidentally, most of the central paramilitary personnel and state police cops posthumously selected for the gallantry award this year laid down their lives in anti-naxal operations.

Others selected for PPMG include assistant commandant K C Yadav and constable Ashim Manta of BSF and constable Anil Kumar T of ITBP. While both Yadav and Manta fought Red Ultras during their posting in Bihar for election duty this year, Anil Kumar fought the Taliban after a suicide attack on Border Road Organisation personnel at the Zaranj-Delaram Highway Project site in Afghanistan last year.

A severely injured Kumar rushed to the aid of his fellow jawans and carried them to safety even as he constantly fired from his rifle at the Taliban till he fell unconscious. His action forced the terrorists to retreat and saved the lives of many jawans.

CRPF head constable Kunjumohan C too received the PMG posthumously. While driving a vehicle ferrying personnel in Manipur, he was hit by a bullet. Though he was grievously injury, he drove the vehicle from the ambush site and parked it at a safe place on a hill side, thus saving the lives of everyone on board.

Among other awardees are five commandos -- Ajai Singh, SLC Khup, CT Ravi, Om Prakash and S Chongloi -- of the elite anti-terror force NSG. They have been selected for the police medal for meritorious service (PMMS). Other awardees are: CRPF IG Rajesh Pratap Singh who gets the President's Police Medal for Distinguished Services (PPMDS), CRPF DIG Vikram Sahgal (PMMS), CBI joint director Arun Kumar (PPMDS), and CISF DIG Udayan Banerjee (PMMS).

No comments: